No Sun Please, We’re Aunties!

Shiseido 'Brilliant Bronze' Tinted Self-Tanning Gel

Shiseido 'Brilliant Bronze' Tinted Self-Tanning Gel

One of the aunty’s most hated enemies has got to be the sun, which gives us that dreaded P word….pigmentation! Still, the white-as-fish-belly look isn’t really in either. What’s an aunty to do? For once, I considered self-tanners since I’m too squeamish to get myself sprayed in a pro job. And tanning in the sun is out of the question. But I was haunted by what someone related to me many years ago as a student. She had tried it and it streaked all over her skin leaving it patchy instead of an overall glow. But I figured it’s been many years since then (I’m not saying how many) so surely technology has improved.

So I took the plunge buying one from Shiseido called the Brilliant Bronze Tinted Self-Tanning Gel. It’s very watery so I guess that helped to spread it on without streaking. The colour was very light, didn’t notice any difference the first time I put it, so it wasn’t really instant colour. But after a few applications over several days, my skin turned slightly darker, and while not exactly a bronzed look, not as pale and sickly. Would I recommend it for S$44…hmmm…after using up the whole bottle, I decided it was way too much trouble because it smelled rather horrible and it didn’t really make that much of a difference to my skin colour. Only if you’re very determined to keep it up would it be worthwhile. The only relief I got? I didn’t turn orange.

Leave a Reply

