Review: Dr. Bronner’s Liquid Soap

I love my toiletries, my bathroom is filled with tons of soap, shampoos and my dressing table with all sorts of products. Recently, I’ve begun a craze for all-natural products and chanced upon this great soap, Dr. Bronner’s liquid soap.

It’s a castile soap that claims to have 18 uses! According to wikipedia, castile soap is a name used in English-speaking countries for olive oil-based soap made in a style similar to that originating in the Castile region of Spain.

Lavender Dr. Bronner's Liquid Soap

Lavender Dr. Bronner's Liquid Soap

However, in recent times it’s used to refer to soap made from vegetable oils versus animal fats. Dr. Bronner’s says its soap is completely biodegradable, vegetable based and made with organic oils.

I bought the lavender and peppermint “flavours” to try. They smell heavenly and the peppermint is especially strong. The scent really fills up the bathroom after my shower. But more importantly they clean really well, squeaky clean well. The lather is smooth and creamy.

The label is filled up with tiny writings that made me squint to read them. Some of them are amusing, others are a bit OTT.

The soap can be used as a shampoo (although I wouldn’t recommend it because it made my hair a bit matted), for laundry, as a toothpaste and in a face pack.

The soap is made from water, saponified organic coconut, organic palm and organic olive oils (w/Retained Glycerin), organic hemp oil, organic jojoba oil, essential oils, citric acid, vitamin E

As the label says, “Health is Wealth” and “Absolute cleanliness is Godliness”.

2 comments

  1. How much are these and where do you get them from?

  2. kkkoh

    I buy mine from http://www.naturaworks.com. Prices range from S$4.90 to S$105 depending on the size. The lowest is for a small 2 oz bottle, good for trying. I’ve also seen the soap being sold in Brown Rice Paradise in Tanglin Mall.

Leave a Reply

