Famous Sungei Road Trishaw Laksa

Laksa Uncle

Laksa Uncle

If you’re ever in the Chinatown area, stop by the Famous Sungei Road Trishaw Laksa (#02-66) stall at the Hong Lim Food CentreĀ for some yummy laksa.

Now, any stall that calls itself “famous” anything automatically arouses the sceptic in me. However, the laksa is pretty good, it’s not too oily and the coconut milk isn’t overwhelming.

I usually get the $4 version because $3 isn’t filling enough for me. For $5.50, you get a crayfish thrown in. I never miss out on the cockles either. The laksa uncle is really friendly too, he says the soup is cooked with scallops, oysters and dried prawns for 2 hours. The stall also sells mee siam, and although I’ve tried it, I’m not a fan of the mee siam. I always go for the laksa.

3 comments

  1. Haha, today I just tried this stall called something like Hougang Famous Wanton Mee at the Old Airport Road market. Long queue…. I usually steer clear of queues but I had a craving for wanton mee so I succumbed. Boy, the hawker was so rude. He was barking at us to give him our orders. He even scolded an elderly customer for not stating that he wanted soup wanton mee for his takeaway order. Anyway, the verdict? Not something I would queue up for again.

  2. kkkoh

    It must be something about wanton mee. There’s a stall near my office with a “famous” grouchy old lady. The wanton mee is nice but she is rude too. She once yelled at me in Cantonese “If it’s not yours, don’t take it!” lightning could have struck me cos I yelled back at an old lady “How would I know it’s not mine?” I was next in line after all. Never went back. I heard she’s nicer to men!

  3. leechingshen

    I remember the grouchy old lady in the food court behind Capital Square! I agree with you, KK. Once, i went to this famous kuey-teow soup place in a suburb of KL. I was warned by the lady boss it’d be a 45-minute wait. After about 40 minutes, I saw a customer who’d arrived at about the same time being served, and when the lady boss walked past, I asked if mine was arriving. “I told you it’d be 45 minutes, didn’t you understand me?” she shouted for the whole coffee shop’s benefit. I shouted back “Yes, that was 40 minutes ago” and walked out. Is it worth being treated badly for good food then? Guess we all agree it’s not.

Leave a Reply

