Pancakes for Breakfast

Pancakes for breakfast

Pancakes for breakfast

My daughter recently expressed a hankering for McDonald’s hot cakes. I thought I could try making pancakes at home rather than eating at McDonald’s so I looked for a recipe on the Internet. I finally decided on one from allrecipes.com called Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes which I’ve reproduced here. Anything old-fashioned must be tested and true I figured.

However, my first piece was a mess because I wasn’t sure when to turn it. I flipped it too soon and it broke up into pieces. Turn too late and the bottom is burned.
Finally I discovered when it’s ready to be turned over, the surface developes little holes and it’s firm-ish. So the next few pieces went relatively well and I managed to eke out 7 pancakes. They are rather tasteless which was for the best since the kids promptly slathered them in butter and honey. Maybe the next time I’ll add some blueberries!

Pancakes for breakfastIngredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Make a well in the center and pour in the milk, egg and melted butter; mix until smooth.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.
7 comments

  1. I love pancakes for breakfast too! Especially when served with berries. I’m too lazy to whip it up from scratch, and recently I discovered this one that comes in a bottle (like a small milk bottle), and you just have to shake up the insides before use,uncap it, add water (I use milk) up to the mark, then recap it and shake, shake, shake. The bottle is a good idea cos it makes pouring so much easier. The dough can be saved for 3 days in the fridge. It’s quite fluffy and tasty. And I have tried quite a few premixes!

  2. Your pancakes look good! My pancakes always look good on the first side only.

  3. kkkoh

    I show you the nicest one. Heh. Erin broke my plate because daddy and her were flipping the pancakes! That bottle premix is a very clever idea.

  4. Alamak! Talk about kitchen disasters!

  5. mamatimesguest

    seventeeneleven is Choo?

  6. katherine61

    Where do you buy your measuring cups from? Phoon Huat? Easier than weighing them right?

    • kkkoh

      Strangely I bought them from BHG in Tampines. Came with spoons. Weighing is supposed to be more accurate but I have not had any problems. Cups are so easy just scoop.

Leave a Reply

