Nars Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturiser

My obsession is to find the perfect makeup. It must have

1) high enough SPF
2) some amount of coverage
3) moisturiser

Basically I’m lazy and I want to have everything rolled into one. Every morning when I put on my makeup I have very little time, at most 10 minutes, for a slapdash job.

At the minimum I need a moisturiser and sunblock so I have been trying to find a product that comes with everything. I have tried out all sorts hoping to find the perfect makeup. Unfortunately, like in most things, perfection is out of reach. There is always a compromise.

One of the makeup bases I tried was the Nars Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturiser. I was so desperate for the perfect all-in-one that I pounced on this and ordered it online from Nordstrom and had it shipped from the U.S.

It has SPF 30 sunscreen which is good enough for daily use. The texture is lovely as it’s light and I feel as if I haven’t put on anything, which is good because products with sunblock tend to be greasy. So even if I layer it on I don’t feel that it’s thick and heavy.

It’s also a moisturiser so I don’t have to put on an additional layer.

It makes my skin look nicer and more even.

The colour I picked (which I took a chance on since I couldn’t test it), St Moritz, matched my relatively fair skin. There are nine shades.

Moisturiser Shades

Moisturiser Shades

1 Finland – Lightest with a neutral balance of pink and yellow undertones

2 Alaska – Light with a neutral balance of pink and yellow undertones

3 St. Moritz – Medium with a neutral yellow undertone

4 Annapurna – Medium with a neutral peachy undertone

5 Cuba – Medium with a neutral balance of pink and yellow undertones

6 Malaga – Medium dark with warm caramel undertones

7 Seychelles – Medium dark with golden olive undertones

8 Martinique – Medium dark with warm red undertones

9 Polynesia – Dark with warm chocolate undertones

Perfection is just within reach, except that the coverage is quite light so it can’t completely cover some patches on my skin. For someone whose skin is not as patchy, it would be perfect.

It’s a bit pricey at US$42 and troublesome to obtain, but I would buy it again because I really like the smooth texture.

In my obsession, I’ve also tried many others, which I shall review later.

2 comments

  1. Sounds good… but it’s hard to get the right colour! You were lucky to get it right the first time! Shiseido Tinted Moisturiser worked well for me, it smoothed over the imperfections and gave my skin a subtle healthy glow. However, the spf is 22 or 25… too low for me. I am going to try Skinceuticals’ Sheer Mineral UV Defense SPF 50 next. It has a very light tint that goes with all skin tones, or so i’ve read. I saw a local website feelbeautiful.com.sg retailing it for $53.

  2. kkkoh

    I would need at least SPF 30 or I need to put additional sunblock. Write a review when you buy!I am a bit wary of products that say sheer because I need more coverage. Sigh!

Leave a Reply

