Stay Cool

Home-made banana-strawberry ice-cream

Home-made banana-strawberry ice-cream

My kids can’t take cow’s milk so I always have to put up with their woebegone faces when I tell them they can’t have ice cream. So for the longest time I’ve been thinking of making my own. But without an ice-cream maker it seems a lot of effort because I would have to freeze it and blend it a few times. And most dairy-free ice cream recipes call for soya milk, which I don’t think tastes very nice.

Add your own toppings

Add your own toppings

Then I came upon a machine on Amazon which supposedly turns bananas into ice cream and I thought aha! But if I bought a machine from the US I’d have to contend with the power difference. After some more searching I discovered the One-Ingredient Ice-Cream and it turned out to be bananas. It seemed simple enough. Freeze some bananas and put them into the food processor and voila! ice cream. It’s supposed to taste like soft-serve ice cream.

One dollop of DIY ice-cream

One dollop of DIY ice-cream

So one day I decided to have a go. I kept a couple of bananas until the skin turned slightly black cos some netizens said they have to be really ripe. I sliced them up and put them in the freezer. I also had some stray strawberries after I bought them for a sponge cake and if I didn’t eat them they’d turn to mush soon. So I also tossed them into the freezer. I didn’t have a food processor and it was a bit harder with a blender but finally I got the bananas and strawberries turned into slushee. I wanted it harder so I put it back into the freezer. The ice-cream turned out really delicious, slightly creamy and very fruity.

The bananas have to be really ripe

The bananas have to be really ripe

It’s a good way to get my kids to eat some types of fruits. They won’t eat strawberries because they find them too sour. But they love bananas. So obviously if you don’t like bananas, this won’t work for you. And it seems to be really guilt-free ice cream. I’m going to experiment with other flavours soon, including adding chocolate chips.

For those interested in the nutritional information, the yield from 3 bananas gives:

Servings: 2 / Calories: 158 / Total Fat: 0.6 g / Cholesterol: 0 mg / Sodium: 2 mg / Carbohydrates: 40.4 g / Dietary Fiber: 4.6 g / Sugars: 21.6 g / Protein: 1.9 g

If you need step-by-step instructions, check out: http://www.thekitchn.com/stepbystep-instructions-for-on-97170

 

2 comments

  1. Oh ya, I tried that same method before! It was pretty cool, getting ice cream from one ingredient. But I must say it was really banana overdose for me! I would so love an ice cream maker!

Leave a Reply

