Lemon Drizzle Bars

Lemon Drizzle Cake

Lemon Drizzle Cake

The first time I tried this cake was when a colleague made it for the office. Everyone loved it. It was tart and sweet, a perfect combination. Another colleague also decided to try making it. At that time I didn’t think much of it, I just ate whatever they made. But one day as I was flipping through my trusty “Big Book of Baking” I came upon a page on Lemon Drizzle Bars. Could it be? That same lemony cake everyone loved? So I decided to make it too.  And it turned out well. This is a fool-proof recipe. I’ve made it many times.

Ingredients:

2 eggs

generous 3/4 cup superfine sugar

2/3 cup butter/margarine, plus extra for greasing

finely grated rind of 1 lemon

1 1/2 cups self-rising flour

1/2 cup milk

confectioners’ sugar for dusting

Syrup:

1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (1 lemon usually suffices)

Directions

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C. Grease 7 inch/18 cm square cake pan and line with nonstick parchment paper.

Place eggs, sugar and butter in a bowl and beat hard. Stir in lemon rind, then fold in the flour. Stir in the milk, then spoon into the prepared cake pan. Smooth it level.

Bake in the preheated oven for 45-50 minutes, or until golden brown and firm to the touch. Remove from the oven and place on a wire rack.

To make the syrup, place the confectioners’ sugar and lemon juice in a small saucepan and heat gently until sugar is dissolved.  Do not boil.

Prick the cake all over with a skewer and spoon the hot syrup evenly over the top.

Let cool completely and turn out the cake. Dust with a little confectioners’ sugar before serving.

I like this recipe because I use cups and spoons for my measurements. If you prefer to weigh your ingredients, here’s another recipe that my colleague pointed out. It’s from the Goddess’s Kitchen.

http://thegoddesskitchen.blogspot.sg/2010/02/lemon-drizzle-cake.html

5 comments

  1. The version u made for us – did it have the drizzle?
    (oh I love using spoons and cups too! I would love a set of measuring cups that state oz too)

  2. kkkoh

    Yes I put the drizzle. I poked holes and poured over the top.

  3. katherine61

    I am more used to measureing in grams but i have the conversion table.

  4. katherine61

    What is confectioners’ sugar?

  5. kkkoh

    It’s the same as icing sugar.

Leave a Reply

