Chickpea Overload

Chick pea hummus

Chick pea hummus

Chickpeas bring back fond memories of going to the cinema as a kid with my dad who’d buy me some kacang putih to go with my movies. I’d invariably choose the chickpeas because they were nice and soft and big.

Serve with olive oil

Serve with olive oil

I’d spend a pleasant two hours making my chickpeas last as long as possible while I struggled to comprehend the movies.

So when I came upon some recipes for chickpeas I decided to buy a big bag from Sheng Siong. The first thing I made was hummus.

I’ve always liked the dish but never thought that it was something I could make at home. But it was surprisingly easy, needing only very few ingredients.

The only troublesome part was cooking the chick peas. I could always use the canned version but apart from not knowing where to get it, I don’t like canned food.

So I had to soak the dry chick peas overnight, cook them for a long time and peel off the skins. Since they took too long to cook in a normal pot I transferred them to my pressure cooker.

Chickpea hummus in the sunlight.

Chickpea hummus in the sunlight.

I bought the tahini from NTUC. Amazing what one can get from NTUC these days. According to wikipedia, tahini is a paste made from ground sesame seeds.

It looks a bit disgusting. But the chick peas don’t really have a taste so the tahini makes it more authentic.

I haven’t really succeeded with my pita bread so I paired it with regular French bread made by my machine.

Interestingly, Anne Hathaway said she lived on hummus and radishes to lose 16 pounds for her role in Les Miserables. I wouldn’t recommend it daily though.

For those wanting to try it out, here’s the recipe I found on the Internet. This person writes a blog on everything hummus!

Serve with olive oil and chopped parsley.

Serve with olive oil and chopped parsley.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dried chickpeas (the smallest you can find)
  • 1/2 cup tahini
  • juice from 1 squeezed lemon
  • 1-2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 tablespoon + 1/8-1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • salt
  • olive oil
  • parsley

Directions:

  1. Pour the chickpeas over a large plate. Go over them and look for damaged grains, small stones, or any other thing you would rather leave out of the plate.
  2. Wash the chickpeas several times, until the water is transparent. Soak them in clean water over night with 1 tablespoon of baking soda. Then, wash it, and soak again in tap water for a few more hours. The grains should absorb most of the water and almost double their volume.
  3. Wash the chickpeas well and put them in a large pot. Cover with water, add the rest baking soda and NO salt. Cook until the grains are very easily smashed when pressed between two fingers. It should take around 1-1.5 hours, during which it is advised to switch the water once again, and remove the peels and foam which float over the cooking water. When done, sieve the grains and keep the cooking water.
  4. Put the chickpeas into a food processor and grind well. Leave it to chill a little while before you continue.
  5. Add the tahini and the rest of the ingredients and go on with the food processor until you get the desired texture. If the hummus is too thick, add some of the cooking water. It should be thinner than the actual desired texture.
  6. Serve with some good olive oil and chopped parsley.
4 comments

  1. Er, yes, that’s really chickpea overload! I haven’t acquired the taste for chickpea, but glad to see that you enjoyed making this. My childhood kacang putih was sugar coated peanuts!

  2. kkkoh

    Now I must find the right bread for it. Haha.

  3. katherine61

    I happen to like chickpeas that the kachang putih man used tp sell. Where can u get raw chick peas? Your kids like it?

    • kkkoh

      I bought dried chick peas from the Sheng Siong near Bedok Reservoir. It sells a lot of dried goods including lentils. My son tried the hummus and didn’t like it. My daughter didn’t even try. But I didn’t give them the chickpeas without anything.

Leave a Reply

