Chewy Lime Sugar Cookies

Lime cookies for tea.

Lime cookies for tea.

Warning: these cookies are really addictive! I so love the chewy texture and the bits of coconut add interest. My husband however said coconut always reminds him of nyonya kueh!

Anyone for lime Jenga?

Anyone for lime Jenga?

I found the recipe on a website, My Baking Addiction, although the author seems to have taken it from somewhere else. The photos are very pretty and make the food so appealing.

So one night after I got a really irksome call from the bank I was galvanised to work off my energy by following a recipe from this website. The cookies turned out exactly like those in the photos. Don’t you just hate it when what you make turns out differently? So I was very happy when my lumps of dough flattened nicely and had a chewy texture.

I toasted the dried coconut in the oven for a a few minutes. Even though the last step of the recipe said to roll the dough in sugar, I refrained…It was simply too sinful.

They already taste wonderful without that step but go ahead if you think it’ll make them nicer. In a pinch I reckon you can substitute lemon for lime. The lime smelled wonderful as I grated the zest. But the taste was too subtle, the cookies are not terribly tart.

Lime cookiesIngredients:

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Zest of one large lime, finely minced
  • 3 tbsp lime juice
  • ½ cup unsweetened toasted coconut
  • 1/2 cup sugar for rolling cookies

This recipe is from Rock Recipes

Lime cookies

Lime cookies

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (180 degrees Celsius). Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
  3. Using a mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and very fluffy.
  4. Beat in egg, vanilla extract, lime juice and lime zest.
  5. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients and toasted coconut.
  6. Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and roll in sugar. Place on lined cookie sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart.
  7. Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until lightly browned.
  8. Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.
2 comments

  1. katherine61

    Going to bake this today as I have lots of lime which I don’t want to go to waste. I am using small limes. Your recipe sounded like you used a big lime.

  2. kkkoh

    I usually use big limes. Don’t have to squeeze so many to get the juice. Heh. They also have a different taste. But I don’t think it matters. Whatever’s on hand.

Leave a Reply

