Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I had a major bake-off over the weekend making three rounds of cookies for Teachers’ Day. For the school teachers, I relied on the trusty Oatmeal Raisin Cookie recipe shared here earlier. Then, the next day, while thinking of what to bake for the other teachers, I searched for a recipe that offered a bit more taste and texture. And I stumbled on Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Oatmeal Raisin Cookies . I must say the photo of the cookies and the very attractive website was what won me over. Plus, I had all the ingredients at hand.

Or so I thought! I didn’t have enough of everything so I decided to halve the recipe. If you notice carefully, the amount of chocolate chips needed is quite a lot: a whole bag of Hershey’s semi-sweet chocolate chips. 

But the payoff is great. The chocolate adds a rich, decadent dimension to the cookies. The oatmeal gives a satisfying kick, while the raisins are, as always, nice and chewy. My daughter said they reminded her of Famous Amos, which I think is a great compliment. 

Great with coffee.

On my second try making these cookies, I tried out the full recipe and I had more than 1.3kg of cookies! I know, because I was packing them into goodie bags for the teachers and each bag weighed slightly more than 100g. I had a haul of 13 bags for the teachers, with six extra cookies for my niece. None left for me, so I can’t say how they tasted after three days. 

Note: The dough does expand a lot in the over, even though I already made them smaller than recommended. I took about 3 hours to finish baking this recipe, no thanks to my small cookie trays. The recipe also requires you to turn the tray around at half-time, which I had to remember to do between all the spooning of the batter, the transferring of baked cookies to wire rack, the laying of fresh parchment paper, and the greasing…. Tiring!

The dough looks like tuna in mayo!

So here’s the recipe for Chocolate Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 cups raisins
1 package (12 ounces) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside. With an electric mixer, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy.

Add eggs and vanilla; beat until combined, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Add flour mixture; beat until just combined.

Add oats, raisins, and chocolate chips; beat until just combined.

Drop 32 heaping tablespoons of batter, about 1 1/2 inches apart, onto baking sheets.

Bake, rotating sheets halfway through, until cookies have spread and are golden brown and soft to the touch, 10 to 12 minutes.

Cool 5 minutes on sheets; transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

3 comments

  1. kkkoh

    Can’t go wrong with Martha! Looks yummy although I would have it with tea. Heh.

  2. katherine61

    Am tempted to try although its not a Chinese New Year cookie. Maybe after CNY..

  3. Ya i would like to bake these again too! But there are always new recipes to try.

Leave a Reply

