Making Frosting Work

Making frosting work

Making frosting work

My new best friend is mybakingaddiction.com. Her recipes usually use a lot of berries, or lemons and limes, which I love. So I’ve made many delicious goodies following her suggestions. Recently I made her blueberry cupcakes, which weren’t anything spectacular, though tasty as usual.

Frosting starsBut the frosting she used for it was great. In the past I’ve been reluctant to frost my cakes because I found that buttercream didn’t work very well. It was oily and usually sank into a puddle, and therefore couldn’t retain its piped shape.

Her frosting for the cupcakes is more solid, for lack of a better word, and so holds the shape better. My piping skills need some improvement but I’m very pleased by the texture, which gives me hope.

I reckon it’s because she also adds some cream cheese to the concoction. It is rather sweet (I suspect she has a serious case of sweet tooth) so the next time I’m going to try adding lemon juice instead of vanilla.

I’ve replicated the frosting recipe here. It makes a huge amount, enough for me to ice 40 cupcakes so I had to keep some in the fridge. If you need a smaller amount, just half the quantity.

She used clear vanilla extract in the recipe to keep the icing white. But I found that my icing wasn’t white anyway even without the extract, because of the butter. It was already rather yellow-ish and my extract was the usual brown so I didn’t bother to keep the frosting pristine. I also have no idea where to get clear vanilla extract.

Frosting starHer frosting was for blueberry cupcakes so naturally she topped it with a blueberry. But I’m planning to use this for many types of cupcakes and it can really be topped with all sorts of things.

My daughter favoured chocolate chips! By the way, I also watched her video on using icing tips and it was very informative. She made it look so easy but I reckon one just needs lots of practice.

Apparently there’s also a subtle difference between frosting and icing even though to me they are interchangeable. According to icing-and-frosting.com, icing tends to be more sugary and hardens faster while frosting is thicker, creamier and contains butter and fats.

Frosting stars on cupcakes

Frosting stars on cupcakes

Recipe

Frosting from mybakingaddiction.com:

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened to room temperature
  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 2 pounds confectioners’ sugar, sifted (about 7 cups)
  • 2 teaspoons clear vanilla extract

Making frosting workDirections

Cream together cream cheese and butter until well combined in a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or in a large bowl with an electric hand mixer.

With the mixer on low, gradually add the confectioners’ sugar until thoroughly incorporated and smooth. Add vanilla and mix to combine. Pipe cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.

4 comments

  1. Looks really pro! I don’t really like to eat frosting but they are what makes cupcakes so delish-looking! Love the polka dotted liners too! Good explanation on the icing vs frosting. I always had problems with icing so maybe I should try frosting the next time.

  2. kkkoh

    I don’t think I’ve eaten a single cupcake! They mostly went to teachers on Teacher’s Day and Erin’s friends. The frosting is very sweet. I suppose the icing sugar also helps to stiffen it. I tried another of her frosting. Will post soon.

    • But you have your crew of tasters right? I must taste what I bake cos I can never be sure of the quality!

      • kkkoh

        After I make it I don’t really feel like eating it anymore. And I can’t tell either whether it’s nice. But the cupcakes got repeat “orders” so I guess the kids at least liked them. All that combination of chocolate, frosting etc makes it very attractive to them!

Leave a Reply

