Two cupcakes

I must confess… it took me a while to understand how the cupcake store name Twelve Cupcakes came about. To me, initially, it just had a nice ring to it – nothing more. Somewhere along the way, I must have read enough recipes to realise that more often than not, they would state: Makes 12 cupcakes.

Recently, I bought a 12-cupcake/muffin pan. I do have a 6-muffin tray but that makes jumbo muffins. So all this time, I have actually been using individual cases when I wanted to make normal-sized muffins or cupcakes. Ah! a 12-cupcake pan makes everything easier. True, individual cases are super convenient for baking but they are quite thick and you have to undo the pleats on all sides when you want to eat them. With the pan, you can just slot in thin cases and they come out looking prettier.

See!

Perfection in a pan? Haha!

Perfection in a pan? Haha!

Anyway, this post is about two types of cupcakes I tried recently. One is the red velvet cupcake shown above. I got the recipe from Divas Can Cook. The recipe is actually for a double-layer cake, but she has modified the baking time for those who want cupcakes. It seems like her version has that extra oomph because she added coffee. There’s a video in there too which is really quite useful and also entertaining.

I have reproduced her original recipe here, though the comments in brackets are mine. If I remember correctly, this recipe yielded 18 cupcakes.

The BEST Red Velvet Cake Recipe. Easy. Moist. Homemade
Author: Divas Can Cook – Monique
Recipe type: Dessert
Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 35 mins
Total time: 50 mins
Serves: 12

Ingredients
– 2 cups all purpose flour
– 1 teaspoon of baking soda
– 1 teaspoon of baking powder
– 1 teaspoon of salt
– 2 Tablespoon of unsweetened, cocoa powder
– 2 cups sugar
– 1 cup vegetable oil
– 2 eggs
– 1 cup buttermilk
– 2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
– 1-2 oz. red food coloring (I used about 30ml of Phoon Huat’s Noel red colouring)
– 1 teaspoon of white distilled vinegar (I used Heinz)
– ½ cup of prepared plain hot coffee

Instructions
– Preheat oven to 325.
– In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cocoa powder and salt. Set aside.
– In a large bowl, combine the sugar and vegetable oil.
– Mix in the eggs, buttermilk, vanilla and red food coloring until combined.
– Stir in the coffee and white vinegar.
– Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients a little at time, mixing after each addition, just until combined.
– Generously grease and flour two round cake pans with crisco and flour. (From here, I just pour batter into the lined muffin tray)
– Pour the batter evenly into each pan.
– Bake in the middle rack for 30-40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Do not over bake as cake will continue to cook as it cools. (For cupcakes, bake for 18 minutes)
– Let cool on a cooling rack until the pan are warm to the touch.
– Slide a knife or offset spatula around the inside of the pans to loosen the cake from the pan.
– Remove the cakes from the pan and let them cool.
– Frost the cake with cream cheese frosting when the cakes have cooled completely.

I also used her recipe for cream cheese frosting, but please don’t use the recommended amount of sugar! It would be way too sweet. Instead of her 4 cups, I used 3 cups.
Here’s how my red velvet cupcake turned out, with frosting.

Red velvet cupcake with sloppy cream cheese frosting and juicy Korean strawberries.

Red velvet cupcake with sloppy cream cheese frosting and juicy Korean strawberries.

Because I made so much cream cheese frosting, I had to look for another cupcake to make. Found this chocolate cake recipe from Marin Mama Cooks. I must be really partial to coffee cos her recipe also calls for the addition of a strong brew. Her step-by-step photo instructions are beautifully laid out, so go check in there.

The result?

Chocolate cupcake with, what else, but the same cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate cupcake with, what else, but the same cream cheese frosting.

Another similarity between the red velvet and chocolate cake recipes is that they use oil rather than butter. Oil is supposed to make cakes super moist. Butter tends to dry out cakes a bit more, so I read. The trade-off, in my opinion, is that the cakes don’t turn out as “fragrant”. But this is compensated by the decadent and delicious cream cheese frosting.

Anyway, I gave some chocolate cupcakes to my daughter’s friend. When her mum called me up to say thanks, I could hear some other woman talking in the background.

“Did you hear what my mother said?” the mum on the phone asked me.

I said, “Er, no, cannot hear.”

“She says, ‘Your cupcake very nice! Better than Twelve Cupcakes!'”

Haha, so kind of her.

One comment

  1. kkkoh

    No need to waste money at 12 cupcakes anymore!

Leave a Reply

