Blueberry Coffee Cake

Loving my blueberries!

Loving my blueberries!

There is something about blueberries that makes them so attractive in baked goods. Of all the recipes I have tried, I think I keep going back to blueberry muffins the most. The sight of burst blueberries, with their inky juice bleeding into perfectly-browned batter, is so irresistible. Blueberries are also a super-food, packed with anti-oxidants.

My latest recipe discovery comes from Food Network’s Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins. It has earned no less than five stars from reviewers, who easily heaped superlatives like “the best” and “most delicious” on it.

At first I didn’t read it carefully and was looking high and low for the coffee in the ingredient list. Then I realised that this is actually a coffee cake, which I supposed is the same as tea cake? But why call it both coffee cake and muffin? Not sure myself. But this recipe definitely yields a cake-like feel. Method-wise, the creaming of sugar and butter, followed by the gradual addition of egg, also makes it a cake — I think!

The batter was pale and airy.

The batter was pale and airy.

Verdict? Very yummy indeed. I like how it’s not too sweet, and the cake is very light and soft, maybe due to the sour cream. I also like how the top is flat, which to me is a nice change from my usual cracked mounds. My kids also gave the thumbs up. So, unless I see another must-try blueberry muffin recipe, this will be IT.

Below is the recipe with some tweaks incorporated. For example, I reduced the baking time from 25-30 minutes to 15-20 minutes, cos that’s how my oven behaves. The recipe states that it should make 16 muffins, but I got a bounty of 24 cakes, which is a lot I know, but I’m sure they will get gobbled up quickly. Or you can freeze them for later. I am so glad I resisted the urge to halve the recipe.

Ingredients
170g or 3/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 extra-large eggs, at room temperature (I used 4 regular eggs)
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
8 ounces (about 1 cup) sour cream
1/4 cup milk
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 punnets of fresh blueberries (250g in total; more if desired!)

Directions
Preheat the oven to 177 degrees. Place paper liners in muffin pans.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, add the eggs 1 at a time, then add the vanilla, sour cream, and milk. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. With the mixer on low speed add the flour mixture to the batter and beat until just mixed. Fold in the blueberries with a spatula and be sure the batter is completely mixed.

Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin pans, filling each cup about 3/4 full, and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until the muffins are lightly browned on top and a cake tester comes out clean.

One comment

  1. kkkoh

    I love blueberries too. These look delicious.

Leave a Reply

